Blog Tour, Book Blitz, Book Review, Fiction, Historical Fact, Historical Fiction, History, Mystery, Promo, Romance, Spotlight, TBR, TBR Pile, Unstacking, Women's Fiction

#BlogTour #Review -The Forgotten Secret by Kathleen McGurl @KathMcGurl @rararesources #TheForgottenSecret

thumbnail_The Forgotten Secret.png

Review

Hi Everyone, 

I am thrilled to be able to bring you all a review of The Forgotten Secret by Kathleen McGurl.

lineThe Blurb

thumbnail_cover from fbA country at war 

It’s the summer of 1919 and Ellen O’Brien has her whole life ahead of her. Young, in love and leaving home for her first job, the future seems full of shining possibility. But war is brewing and before long Ellen and everyone around her are swept up by it. As Ireland is torn apart by the turmoil, Ellen finds herself facing the ultimate test of love and loyalty. 

And a long-buried secret 

A hundred years later and Clare Farrell has inherited a dilapidated old farmhouse in County Meath. Seizing the chance to escape her unhappy marriage she strikes out on her own for the first time, hoping the old building might also provide clues to her family’s shadowy history. As she sets out to put the place – and herself – back to rights, she stumbles across a long-forgotten hiding place, with a clue to a secret that has lain buried for decades. 

For fans of Kate Morton and Gill Paul comes an unforgettable novel about two women fighting for independence.  

linePurchase Links  

UK  – https://www.amazon.co.uk/Forgotten-Secret-heartbreaking-gripping-historical-ebook/dp/B07H2PMPR3  

US  – https://www.amazon.com/Forgotten-Secret-heartbreaking-gripping-historical-ebook/dp/B07H2PMPR3   

lineAuthor Bio

thumbnail_Kathleen McGurl author photoKATHLEEN MCGURL lives near the sea in Bournemouth, UK, with her husband and elderly tabby cat. She has two sons who are now grown-up and have left home. She began her writing career creating short stories, and sold dozens to women’s magazines in the UK and Australia. Then she got side-tracked onto family history research – which led eventually to writing novels with genealogy themes. She has always been fascinated by the past, and the ways in which the past can influence the present, and enjoys exploring these links in her novels. 

line

Social Media Links

Website:  https://kathleenmcgurl.com/  

Twitter: @KathMcGurl  https://twitter.com/KathMcGurl  

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/KathleenMcGurl/  

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/kathleenmcgurl/  

lineMy Review

When I first heard about this book I thought it sounded slightly different to what I’d normally read. This is Women’s Fiction, with some Irish History. I thoroughly enjoyed this.

I loved Clare. She ended up being a lot stronger than people gave her credit for before she left her husband. She really is my type of woman. She left her very unhappy marriage, it may not have been physically abusive, although some parts are bordering, but it was most definitely emotionally abusive. I think I did an inside dance when she left him.

Ellen I also loved. Again a very very strong woman. Thrown into serving her country. But she was also a woman in love and would do pretty much anything for that love.

I loved the stories of these 2 women and the way Clare’s family past and Ellen’s kind of forge together. Although not directly. I won’t say anything else, as I’ll end up giving too much away.

I’d highly recommend this book and suggest anyone that loves Irish History and women’s fiction should definitely buy this book.

line

Please do go and check out all the other amazing blogs that are contributing to this tour. They are all listed below. 

thumbnail_The Forgotten Secret Full Tour Banner

4 thoughts on “#BlogTour #Review -The Forgotten Secret by Kathleen McGurl @KathMcGurl @rararesources #TheForgottenSecret”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s