Blog Tour, Book Blitz, Chick - Lit, Contemporary Fiction, Fiction, Guest Post, Humour, Literature, Promo, Spotlight, Stacking the Shelves, TBR, TBR Pile, Women's Fiction

#BlogTour #GuestPost – What Happens in France by Carol Wyer @carolewyer @canelo_co #WhatHappensinFrance

What happens in France cover width[7569]Guest Post

Hi Everyone! 

It’s Saturday! YAAAAY!!! Today on my blog I am taking part in the blog tour for What Happens in France by Carol Wyer. I have a guest post to bring you!

lineThe Blurb

42982407“She stood and took her place in front of the camera… It was now or never”

Bryony Masters has been looking for her long-lost sister, Hannah, for years, but when their father has a stroke her search takes on new urgency. So when primetime game show, What Happens in France, puts a call-out for new contestants, Bryony spots the ultimate public platform to find her reality TV-obsessed sister, and finally reunite their family.

With the help of handsome teammate Lewis, it’s not long before she’s on a private jet heading for the stunning beauty of rural France. With a social media star dog, a high maintenance quiz host and a cast of truly unique characters, Bryony and Lewis have their work cut out for them to stay on the show and in the public eye.

Yet as the audience grows and the grand prize beckons they find that the search that brought them together may just fulfil more than one heart’s wish…

This heartwarming romantic comedy of friendship, family and laugh-out-loud adventures is perfect for fans of Kirsty Greenwood, Colleen Coleman and Marian Keyes.

linePurchase Links

lineAuthor BioCarol Wyer - Fence[7573]

Carol E. Wyer, who also writes as Carol Wyer, is an award-winning author and stand up comedian who writes feel-good comedies and gripping thrillers.
Her book, Grumpy Old Menopause won The People’s Book Prize Award for non-fiction 2015.
The DI Robyn Carter series has earned her acclaim as a crime writer and the first book in the series, Little Girl Lost, shot to the #2 best-selling spot on Kindle #9 best-selling audiobook on Audible, and was also a USA Today top 150 best-seller.
Carol has been interviewed on numerous radio shows discussing ”Irritable Male Syndrome’ and ‘Ageing Disgracefully’ and on BBC Breakfast television. She has had articles published in national magazines ‘Woman’s Weekly’ featured in ‘Take A Break’, ‘Choice’, ‘Yours’ and ‘Woman’s Own’ magazines and the Huffington Post.
Carol is a signed author with Bookouture (part of the Haschette Group) Canelo and Delancey Press.

lineSocial Media Links

Goodreads – https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/14925467.Carol_Wyer

Twitter – https://twitter.com/carolewyer

lineGuest@Post

**Thank you so much to Carol for finding the time to write this for my blog**

What Happens in France… The Missing Sections

Like all books, What Happens in France underwent a series of edits before it was ready to be published. The first part of the editing process can be brutal. Line edits are when the editor scythes your book into smithereens, culling characters and suggesting complete plot changes. What Happens in France didn’t fare too badly in this respect. There was some cutting: the plot revolving around Hannah was ‘too sinister’ and had to be dropped with the gentle reminder this was a romantic comedy not one of my gritty crime books. Melinda, Bryony’s best friend, had a subplot all to herself that the editor felt drew attention from Bryony, so I removed all those scenes, and the first chapter that introduced Bryony as a teacher in a private school had to be taken out.

After the changes and addition of increasingly amusing scenes in France, the book was indeed in much better shape but what do you do with the thousands of words you’ve had to remove – in this case, over 40K of them? Bin them. Yes… they’re no good any more. It seems such a waste of hard effort and fruitless hours but such is a writer’s life and I have come to accept that sometimes, much of what I write will be rejected and have to be rewritten.

However, I thought you might like to read one of the passages that was extracted from the original script.

Bryony is a teacher at a private school – a sharp contrast to the school she attended where she was bullied and where her life was utterly miserable. As always, I drew on my own experience for this because I too was mercilessly bullied at school (for different reasons to Bryony) and ended up teaching in a private school.

There was one embarrassing incident that still turns my cheeks pink and has probably remained lodged in the minds of the pupils I taught – the day I was summarising the first few chapters of William Golding’s Lord of the Flies but my mind was elsewhere. Instead of saying the boys ejected from the plane onto the island I said something else altogether – something quite inappropriate. The class broke down into gales of laughter but on the upside, they paid close attention to what I had to say from that day onwards.

I decided to use that memory in what was the opening chapter of What Happens in France, although I changed the episode and wrote a rap summarising the book with the said error. I don’t suppose I should give up the day job any time soon to hang out with Jay-Z and Tiny Tempah, but I hope you enjoy it all the same…

*****

Bryony Masters sat in the empty classroom, wielded her red pen and read the latest offering from one of her class…

Lord of the Flies – Rap

‘Listen up, people, I tell no lies,

I just got through with Lord of the Flies.

Full of horror and all sorts of gory,

I couldn’t put down this gripping story

About boys on an island all alone,

Eating lots of fruit that makes them groan.

Hunting animals and killing fish,

Trying to survive with one sole wish

To get off the island ’fore it’s too late,

And they kill each other in their new monstrous state.

Piggy is hopeless. The boys hunt him down.

Ralph clashes with Jack. Who’ll wear the crown?

The story begins with a plane over land

And schoolboys who ejaculate onto the island…’

Bryony spluttered in disbelief. Sienna Carlson may believe she was queen of the rap scene at the school but it was her amazing ability to conjure up malapropisms that entertained Bryony most. She chuckled and corrected the error.

*****

line

Please do head on over to all the other blogs that are participating in this blog tour, they are all listed below. 

What Happens in France blog tour banner (1)[7570]

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “#BlogTour #GuestPost – What Happens in France by Carol Wyer @carolewyer @canelo_co #WhatHappensinFrance”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s